July 1, 2013, Monday - The speed limit on 570 miles of rural Ohio interstate highways increased to 70 mph from 65 mph under a new state law that allows the Ohio Department of Transportation to increase the speed on all non-urban interstates.

The Ohio Turnpike, which is maintained by its own state agency, already has a 70 mph speed limit throughout its length.

The new 70 mph speed is on:

• Interstate 70 - from the Indiana border to near the West Virginia border, excluding areas around Dayton, Columbus and Zanesville
• I-71 - from Fort Ancient to near the Cuyahoga/Medina County border, excluding the area around Columbus
• I-75 - from near Toledo to near Dayton, excluding the areas around Findlay and Lima
• I-76 - from near Akron to near Youngstown
• I-77 - from near Canton to the West Virginia border
• I-90 - from near Cleveland to the Pennsylvania border.

ODOT announced the new speed limits in May. Since then, it has installed 317 signs to notify motorists of the change.

By: Transport Topics